1981: “Time”


Альбом “Time”, как и “ Eldorado”, был концептуальным. Это история человека, которого занесло в 2095 год и который не может вернуться.

Джефф Линн уволил из ELO троих музыкантов, игравших на струнных инструментах, и заменил их синтезаторами. Электронный звук на диске “Time” соответствовал его футуристической концепции.

В течение двух недель альбом занимал первое место в хит-параде Британии. Он включал в себя хиты “Hold On Tight”, “Twilight”, “The Way Life's Meant to Be”, “Here Is the News” и “Ticket to the Moon”.

Для продвижения альбома группа отправилась в международное турне, которое стало для ELO последним.

Ticket To The Moon

Remember the good old 1980's,

When things were so uncomplicated,

I wish I could go back there again

And everything could be the same.

I've got a ticket to the moon

I'll be leaving here any day soon.

Yeah, I've got a ticket to the moon

But I'd rather see the sunrise, in your eyes.

Got a ticket to the moon

I'll be rising high above the earth so soon

And the tears I cry might turn into the rain

That gently falls upon your window

You'll never know.

Ticket to the moon.

Fly, fly through a troubled sky

Up to a new world shining bright.

Flying high above,

Soaring madly through the mysteries that come,

Wondering sadly if the ways that led me here,

Could turn around and I would see you there,

Standing there.

Ticket to the moon.

Flight leaves here today from Satellite 2.

As the minutes go by, what shall I do,

I paid the fare, what more can I say,

It's just one way.

Ticket to the moon.