1981: “Time”


Альбом “Time”, как и “ Eldorado”, был концептуальным. Это история человека, которого занесло в 2095 год и который не может вернуться.

Джефф Линн уволил из ELO троих музыкантов, игравших на струнных инструментах, и заменил их синтезаторами. Электронный звук на диске “Time” соответствовал его футуристической концепции.

В течение двух недель альбом занимал первое место в хит-параде Британии. Он включал в себя хиты “Hold On Tight”, “Twilight”, “The Way Life's Meant to Be”, “Here Is the News” и “Ticket to the Moon”.

Для продвижения альбома группа отправилась в международное турне, которое стало для ELO последним.

The Way Life's Meant To Be

Well, I came a long way to be here today

And I left you so long on this avenue.

And here I stand in the strangest land

Not knowing what to say or do.

As I gaze around at these strangers in town

I guess the only stranger is me.

And I wonder, yes I wonder

Is this the way life's meant to be.

Although it's only a day since I was taken away

And left standing here looking in wonder

The ground at my feet, maybe it's just the old street

But everything that I know lies under.

And when I see what they've done to this place that was home

Shame is all that I feel.

And I wonder, yes I wonder, is this

The way life's meant to be.

Too late, too late to cry

The people say

Too late for you, too late for me.

You've come so far, now you know everything, my friend

Just look and see the wonders of our world.

And I wonder, yes I wonder, is this

The way life's meant to be.

As I wander around this wreck of a town

Where people never speak aloud

With its ivory towers and its plastic flowers

I wish I was back in 1981.

Just to see your face instead of this place

Now I know what you mean to me.

And I wonder, yes, I wonder, is this

The way life's meant to be.