1976: “A New World Record”

A New World Record

Шестой альбом ELO, который назывался “A New World Record”, вошел в первую десятку хит-парада Британии. Он включал в себя хиты “Livin' Thing”, “Telephone Line”, “Rockaria!” и “Do Ya”.

В течение года после выхода альбома было продано пять миллионов пластинок по всему миру. На обложке “A New World Record” впервые появился знаменитый логотип ELO, который был создан британским дизайнером Джоном Кошем.

Do Ya

In this life I've seen everything I can see woman

I've seen lovers flying through the air

Hand in hand

I've seen babies dancing in the midnight sun

And I've seen kings and queens from the heavenly skies above

I've seen old men crying at their own grave sides

And I've seen pigs all sitting watching

Picture slides

But I never seen nothin' like you.


Do ya want my love

Do ya want my face

Do ya want my mind

Do ya want my love.

Well I heard the crowd singin' out of tune

As they sat and sang auld lang syne by the light

Of the moon

I heard the preacher bangin' on the drums

And I heard the police playin' with their guns

But I never heard nothing like you

In the country where the sky touches down

On the field she lay her down to rest

In the morning sun

They come a runnin' just to get a look just to

Feel to touch her long black hair they don't

Give a damn.


Well I think you know what I'm trying to say


That is I'd like to save you for a rainy day

I've seen enough of the world to know

That i've got to get it all to get it all to grow.